The Best is Yet to Come

The invention of computers and the internet has brought about revolutionary changes to our generation. The way we live and work today is very different from the situation fifteen years ago. A classic example would be the evolution of desktops to laptops. Who would have thought that the old and bulky desktop would transform into a small and portable netbook?

These revolutionary changes get better and better each passing year. Complicated tasks became easier, and some things that were nearly impossible to do a few years ago are now just a few clicks away.

I could never have been happier to be born in this era. Because for a typical university student like me, the computer and the internet, specifically wi-fi, had been very helpful countless of times.

In family gatherings, I would often hear my older relatives saying how lucky our generation is for having a more comfortable lifestyle. During their time, they used typewriters . If they were to revise their term papers, they would have to retype everything. They also had no access to the internet so they would have to find the answers to their research assignments in the library.

There were no downloadable mp3s, videos, or movies that they could enjoy in the comforts of their homes. The different video tutorials that I watch online are non-existent so self-studying was a bit harder.

But so far, I think that one of the best things that computers and the internet had brought us is that they made socializing with people easier. From sending an e-mail to a potential employer, creating a personalized page on a social networking site, or even calling a relative from another country can all be done using the internet. And the best part is, you can do all these for free!

My personal favorites are instant messaging and online group conferencing. Sometimes, because of the busy schedule, there is usually no time for a face-to-face group meeting. Instant messaging and group conferencing are the solutions to this problem. Groupmates can hold an online meeting on weekends to talk about reports, projects, and group assignments that they have to do.

Although I could say that I’m already satisfied with the technological advancements that I’m experiencing now, I know that I still have more developments to watch out for. Living this less complicated and comfortable lifestyle is not the end of it. The Internet Age had just started. Don’t get too over-excited because the best is yet to come.

3 thoughts on “The Best is Yet to Come

  1. Hi Diane! πŸ™‚

    I just love the idea that the older generation gets envious that we have developments like the internet. πŸ™‚ Though, I believe there’s a purpose why a person is born in his or her generation, I still agree that we’re more blessed that the older ones. :p And it excites me, and not makes me envious, that people in the next generations would have more things to boast about in the future ’cause I know we would still be part of how and why that would happen. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Sha! πŸ™‚

      I agree with you. I feel really thankful that I was born in this generation. It’s like the transition period between the old and the new. I happy that I was able to see how the old things worked before they got improved and improved and improved. πŸ˜› I’m sure that our experiences today would be nice to share to the future generations. πŸ™‚

  2. I like how you made use of personal examples, including words from relatives, to make a point about how “lucky” you are for living in these times. Sadly, this is the only thing I can make of your post. Said in another way, I found the substance wanting.

    You made an interesting note about “revolutionary changes” that the Internet brings, and in the same paragraph mention the “evolution of computers.” I find this interesting because I think the two (revolution and evolution) are different, and it would have been nice to determine which kind of change you were more convinced of—is this really a revolution or an evolution?

    Having said that, temper yourself with making claims such as “revolutionary changes get better each passing year.” That’s a big claim or conclusion that begs some proof.

    I’m looking forward to future posts that retain the same warm, personal feel in the writing tone, but substantive enough to become more than just a diary, but a communication blog. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

