FIFA World Cup Hangover

2010 FIFA WORLD CUP CHAMPIONS - SPAIN

2010 FIFA WORLD CUP CHAMPIONS - SPAIN

It’s been a week since my favorite team won the 2010 FIFA World Cup (Viva España!) but I still can’t get enough.  I keep looking for pictures, news, videos, and updates on the next World Cup. Yes, I miss the games so much and I am hungry for more (Torres haha). I think the best description for this situation is that “I am having a FIFA Word Cup Hangover” and I think it’s getting worse.

Right now, I’m proud to say that I am a football enthusiast and a confessed Fernando Torres fanatic. This current addiction of mine (*ahem Torres ahem football ahem Spain NT) wouldn’t have reached this astronomical height if it weren’t for a very important friend – social media.

Philippines, a Basketball country

Philippines, a Basketball country

I didn’t actually watch football until the 2010 World Cup. First reason, I wasn’t athletic and I’m not too crazy about sports. I’d rather watch a drama or a comedy series than watch any game on TV. Second reason, Football is NOT popular in the Philippines. Well, everybody knows that the Philippines is a Basketball country because of the influence of the United States. During the first week of the World Cup, my Tumblr dashboard was filled with loads of posts about the FIFA WC, Spain NT and Fernando Torres that I got curious and researched about the WC.

I got to learn more about Football and was transformed into a devoted Spain NT and Fernando Torres fan in an instant. I found myself joining Football fanclubs and online communities. I followed every substantial Fernando Torres site on Tumblr. I posted, reblogged, posted, reblogged, posted, and reblogged more of FIFA as the Semi-Finals and the Finals drew near. There were support posts,

I believe Spain!

I believe Spain!

hot posts,

Fernando Torres

Fernando Torres

cool posts,

Fernando Torres on the field

Fernando Torres on the field

and funny posts.

gotta catch'em all

gotta catch'em all

I'm not you babe, Fernando

I'm not you babe, Fernando

Paul the octopus, King of Spain!

Paul the octopus, King of Spain!

And everybody just kept sharing. But so far, the biggest thing that I did was to order a Spain jersey. Period.

I learned two things from this World Cup. One, sad to say but I fall into the normal curve of consumerism and capitalism (hahaha). It’s not something to be proud of but the important thing is that I’m happy with whatever I bought (*ahem jersey). Second, now, more than ever, I appreciate peering and sharing in the internet. Even if the WC is over, I still have access to Spain NT and Fernando Torres news, their game schedules for the Euro Cup (yey!),

Euro Cup Eliminations

Euro Cup Eliminations

and whatever there is to know about them. Special mention to Youtube, the website where I got to watch the games and the FT goals that I missed.

*Right this moment I just found out that FT’s wife is pregnant again (huhu my world just crashed).

To wrap-up I would just like to say the following: I love social media. I love Youtube. I love Tumblr. I love Facebook. I love Football. I love FIFA. I love Liverpool FC. I love Spain NT. And I love Fernando Torres so much. (Haha :))

3 thoughts on “FIFA World Cup Hangover

  1. The advent of the New Social Media really gives us the opportunity to reach our celebrity crushes. (I, for example, stalk Ashton Kutcher on Twitter.) It’s become an exciting world for us now because these people who are “impossible to reach” are now, indeed, reachable. New social media bring us the connection to the other side of the world. We now have Skype, Twitter, Tumblr, Yoututbe, and yes of course, Facebook. With these technological advances, the gap is bridged between two people from great distances. And even Hollywood stars, or in your case, international football stars, are only a click away for us raging fanatics. You say you’re in love with social media? I say, “Thank you, Social Media, for daily servings of Askhton Kutcher!” 🙂 😀

  2. Did you see the community over at Livejournal? It’s the bomb on World Cup hotties. I’m not a fan of the world cup, it didn’t hype me. But there was sure a lot of stuff going on. Sometimes its too much for me, especially in Tumblr. But I guess I follow too many people with a particular taste in that niche of football. Although it’s not a big realization, the internet is really a vast place. I can’t stress that enough. It’s not thanks to social media, it’s thanks to the internet that these info are at our reach. Social media is just a tool making our online search for that info way easier.

Leave a Reply

