It’s All About YOU

Yes, there is a new kind of corporate talk that organizations should adopt, and it’s all about YOU, the customers.

In one of my earlier blog posts, I discussed the break-up of organizations and customer because of several factors such as treating the consumers as passive audiences, not reaching out to consumers, and not adopting to change. This time, I’m going to discuss how to keep the customers through a new corporate talk.

Customers want organizations’ messages to have humanity in them. They want something that is interesting, generate emotions, or maybe even make them laugh. These messages are called messages with meaningful value.

For a message to have meaningful value, it should fall unto at least one of these categories:

  • Helpful – It should make our lives easier and convenient. It should serve its purpose in addressing a need. Also, it should be able to solve a problem.
  • Educational – If a message is educational, you should learn something new from it and add something to your body of knowledge. You should develop a deeper understanding of a subject matter. It should validate assumptions and beliefs, and sometimes change false assumptions and beliefs.
  • Inspirational – The message should include success stories to inspire people. It should drive you to do or create something new.
  • Entertaining – There should be emotional affinity to the content.
6 thoughts on “It’s All About YOU

  1. Sir Chong always says that people are emotional beings. Therefore, contents that are void of feelings usually fail to create a connection with others.

    Anyway, I think that a content can have all the four things that make it meaningful. If it is helpful, then it may be educational and inspiring as well. For example, when we are researching for our thesis, the contents that we are able to find are not just helpful but they are also educational and inspiring (the information we mind should inspire us to continue doing our thesis haha) and to some extent, they can also be entertaining, right? 🙂

  2. Your post made me remember how customers nowadays seem to be too vain, it’s all about them, but I daresay they are right to be more critical on where they spend their hard-earned cash. The recession is taking its toll on the whole global economy and people are always finding means on how to save and still get quality service and products. Therefore, it is a challenge for corporations to entice customers and I think you’re right by mentioning that customers want meaningful value. However, corporations should not forget to make their ideas, products and services stick in the minds of their target customers. After all, with most of the customers having a habit of classifying a product/service as either a ‘need’ or a ‘want’, corporations should make their products/services appear as both a need and an irresistible want.

    • I guess I would draw my signature drawing of “me with a peace sign”. I’ll definitely draw a netbook in front of me and I’ll also include my headphones in the drawing. There will be a tumbler and a pack of chips at my right. Then I’ll put a pile of readings on my left. That was basically the life I had this semester: no social life, all-nighters, papers, music, videos, online meetings and the THESIS. It was a hard but very fruitful semester. 🙂

  3. Meanings are in people. I believe a content will be meaningful based on whether it is helpful or at least related to the needs of the consumers of that content. A content meaningful to one person might not be to another.

  4. I had to agree with Kim. People are diverse and they differ in how they make sense of the world. But as humans there are a manifold of things that we share altogether. In all sense, that’s what makes humans amazing.

    There is always an invisible thread that connects all people and it cuts across different cultures. All the same, people have needs to be addressed, questions that require answers and more than occasionally the need to feel motivated or amused.

    I guess this is what meaningful content is all about. And integrating this to the framework of any message would guarantee attention from a specific group of publics that finds them relevant.

    Anyway, I also have a blog entry in line with this.
    Therein, I tried incorporating these four elements in creating a message for a video. Check it out. 🙂

    http://thefeistyfeline.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/anatomy-of-my-favorite-online-videos-2/

Leave a Reply

