In Pictures: Exploring South Korea

In my teen years, the Philippine television landscape was invaded by Korean dramas. During that time, who would’ve thought that these for dramas would become so influential not just to the Philippines but to the whole world?Β Because of Korean dramas, Korea was put in the map as one of the most visited tourist destinations in Asia.

In the Philippines, a lot of Filipinos has listed Korea as part of their travel bucket list to see for themselves the not just the beauty of the country but to also visit the settings of their favorite Korean dramas. Friends, I’m one of them, and I am proud to say that I’ve finally crossed that off my list. So sit back, relax, and let me share with you some pictures of the awesome things we saw and did there! πŸ™‚

DAY 1: Arrival, Insadong, and Gyongbokgung Palace

Just arrived at Incheon Airport. Here’s a picture of me trying to create mist coming from my mouth. It’s my first time experiencing this kind of weather. It’s soooo cold! BRR

Travel Buddies: Migs, Victoria, Diane (Me), Bea, and Trisha

Travel Buddies: Tito Dennis, Tita Cosette, Lola Annie, Tita Luchi, and Tita Yen (The Oldies.. #justkidding)

This is called Hoddeok, one of the many variants of Korean pancakes. AND it’s officially my favorite Korean food!

Here’s Migs, Victoria, and me waiting for our lunch at Jaws (Insadong).

And, of course, here’s the other side of our table, Trisha, Bea, and Migs’ twin! (Haha just kidding)

This is the view from outside Jaws. There’s our empty table at the back!

Pretty flowers at Insadong

Spotted these colorful paper lanterns on our way to Gyongbokgung Palace.

Me at the Gyongbokgung Palace Gates

The steadfast guards of Gyongbokgong Palace still stood by the gate despite the rainy and freezing weather.

Gyongbokgong Palace Entrance

Statue by the bridge

Cherry Blossoms: One of my favorite flowers

Cherry blossoms just starting to bloom at the palace grounds.

On our way to the back garden.

This is the building where the throne is.

Tita Cosette, Tita Yen, and Tita Luchi at the palace grounds.

My favorite picture of the whole trip, our Happiness Picture!

DAY 2: Naminara Island

Nami Island, here we come! (View from the Ferry)

Pine tree made from recycled materials.

Naminara Island

Just arrived at Nami via ferry boat.

Nami Love

Cool sign! I only find these in Anime. Never thought I’d find one here! Hahaha

Snowmen in the middle of spring? Kawaii! πŸ˜€

Busy day at Nami Island!

Mini-house in the middle of the pond. Wonder what happened to one of the clay men’s head?

Giant caterpillars in love! ❀

Winter Sonata Shrine

Of course, you can’t miss Joon-Sang and Yoo-Jin’s First Kiss!

Trees.. Trees.. Trees..

Tito and Tita creating their own Winter Sonata moment. πŸ˜€

Here’s my “inggit” picture! Yes, I was here! Bwahahaha

I’m pointing at my Doritos! Yummy cheese flavor with sunflower something. hahaha

The sign says “Kimchi”. This where Koreans preserve their Kimchi in the past. πŸ™‚

Stage in the middle of the park

A small shrine of jars and scripts πŸ™‚

Ohhh.. More clay men displays! There’s another headless one. I bet he could pass for the headless hunt in Harry Potter! πŸ˜›

Coca-Cola products! I tried the sparkling yogurt one, yummy. πŸ™‚

Clay necklaces, I regret not buying one. huhuhu

DAY 3 & 4: Hanok Village, Han River, Namsan Tower (plus Teddy Bear Museum) and The Blue House

My favorite street!

I’m in love with this place. Too bad I can’t take it home.

A trip can never be complete without a jump shot!

Me at Hanok Village

Err.. I don’t really know where this is but we passed by this on our walk-a-ton to Han River.

This is the famous Han River, the one you see in Korean dramas! Hahaha. Next time I’ll visit in the evening so I could watch the pretty lights. πŸ˜€

Entrance to the Cable Car ride to Namsan Tower. πŸ™‚

Met this cute baby on our way up. πŸ™‚

N for Namsan πŸ˜€

We’re at Love and Locks!

Finally, the Teddy Bear Museum! This is what I have been looking forward to the whole trip. Can you guess how I found out about it? That’s right, Goong (Princess Hours), my favorite drama! πŸ˜€

Bears building the palace.

These bears reminds me of the first part of Les Miserables. haha

Musicians in the Palace

Now where can I find that book?

Meeting with the Emperor

Can you guess where this is? That’s right! Gyongbokgong Palace!!!

Reminds me of Jewel in the Palace and Jang-Geum. Hahaha

Bears bowing to the Emperor Bear.

Ready, aim, FIRE!!!!

Oppa Gangnam Style!

Awww.. Bears dating at the zoo. πŸ™‚

Rock Star Bear!

Painter Bear!

Wedding Bears

Me with Janelle and Gian, the Goong Bears!

You should not leave Korea without trying authentic Korean BBQ! I swear it is the BEST!

It’s not complete without all the side dishes! πŸ˜€

Our last stop, The Blue House.

Hope you enjoyed looking at the pictures. I’ll be back there next year to experience the Winter season and try Skiing with my cousin. Wish me luck so I won’t fall. Haha. Til next time! πŸ™‚

– Diane

P.S. Photos taken using my Nikon Coolpix L310. My best investment ever.

Leave a Reply

